Here at PlanUp we pride ourselves on the reliability of the software and the safeguards in place should PlanUp crash.
On the odd occasion PlanUp crashes, you should re-open PlanUp and the plan will re-open exactly as it was before the crash.
However, on the rare occasion that this does not happen, you can recover the plans yourself from the auto-saves without having to contact us first.
This can also be used if you are using PlanUp via another app to recover plans where the other app can no longer find the plan drawn.
IMPORTANT: Auto-saves are only kept on the iPad for 2 weeks. After this time they are automatically deleted and cannot be recovered.
If you do lose a plan it does not matter if you are/were online or offline when working on the plan. All that matters is that you are using the same device that the plan was drawn on.
NB: All screenshots below are from a Windows PC. The PlanUp screens are identical regardless of the type of device that you are using apart from any surrounding border that is put on by the operating system.
Open PlanUp on the device that you used to draw the plan. If you normally use PlanUp via a third party app you will need to open PlanUp directly, not via the other app.
You will now see a screen similar to that below.
If you are online, make sure that you go offline by tapping go offline at the lower right of the screen (highlighted below). If it says go online you are already offline.

This step will vary be slightly depending on whether PlanUp is being accessed:
To access the auto-save file list:


NB: If you do not have any third party app plans to upload the text will be different. Please see Customers using PlanUp directly for details.


The auto-saves present will display the date and time that the auto-save last took place followed by the first line of the address if one had been entered. If no address had been entered it will say (No address) instead.
If you had saved the plan but cannot see the first line of the address, remember to check any that have no address against them.
Now move on to Step 3: Open and Save the Auto-save.
To access the auto-save file list:


The auto-saves present will display the date and time that the auto-save last took place followed by the first line of the address if one had been entered. If no address had been entered it will say (No address) instead.
If you had saved the plan but cannot see the first line of the address, remember to check any that have no address against them.
Now move on to Step 3: Open and Save the Auto-save.
Once you have identified the relevant auto-save from the list, simply tap it to open it.
Doing this will create a whole new plan and leave the selected auto-save as it was in case there are any further problems so you still have the same auto-save to go back to.
You can now continue working with the plan as normal.
When you have finished the plan, tap Finish and enter the address as you normally would.
If you use PlanUp via a third party app, please go to Adding Plan Back Into Your Third Party App to see how to link the plan back to your survey.
If you are a direct user of PlanUp you can now continue working with the plan as normal.
When you have finished the plan, tap Finish and enter the address as you normally would.
If you use a third party app, once a plan is recovered you will most likely need to put the plan back into that app.
To do this, once you have opened the correct auto-save:
